Julianne’s Neverland

I have a delightful vintage book of Nordic fairy tales I wanted to share, but I can’t seem to find it anywhere! So I has to settle on a favorite of mine. (Of course I can’t possibly choose only one.)

The story of Peter Pan and the Darlings is special to me because I still try to find bits of Neverland in my everyday. Neverland is not so much a real place anymore, but a place in my thoughts where I can be free and unrestricted. It’s where uninhibited creativity happens and stories happen and impossible things are everywhere. Usually I find Neverland when I’m sleeping, but sometimes I manage to find myself there during the day and when I get back to reality, the day is a little brighter and jollier because imagination is powerful and in a way fairy tales can come true. πŸ˜‰

The image is of a lesser knows scene from the story. Peter is out alone at night and has come to be perched on a small rock-island in a cove. There he ponders his little life and his adventures, and wonders abut the could-be’s. this is also one of my favorite lines in the book.
“To die would be an awfully big adventure.”

20140121-225336.jpg

2 thoughts on “Julianne’s Neverland

  1. Three cheers! Peter Pan is one of my top three favorite books, and very easily my favorite “classic”. I got to write my thesis about it at Uni and it was the most fun I’ve ever had in academia. That’s a great illustration, it captures the solitary optimism of the scene so perfectly.

    I don’t think I could ever choose a favorite quote from the book… There are so many wonderful lines for various occasions! My sister got me a leather bracelet engraved with “Would you like an adventure now, or would you like to have your tea first?” hand-carved into it. Reminds me to never stop looking for adventure and magic in life. πŸ™‚

    (Would love to see the Nordic fairy tale book when you find it! Scandinavian folklore is marvelous!)

  2. Peter Pan is one of my favorite classics too! To the point I wish I could think of a word better than “favorite”. It helped me through middle school for sure.

    Oh Juju, you better bring the Nordic fairy tale book to our next blog meeting! I want to see that. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

