Review: Dear Killer

dear killer by katherin ewellAuthor: Katherine Ewell

Age: Young Adult

Genre: Unrealistic realistic fiction

Click here to read summary from Goodreads.

This book surprised me, as in I was surprised how much I liked it. It was one of my favorite reads of 2014, and I wish more people knew about it! Unfortunately, it’s gotten a lot of bad reviews, but I definitely think it’s worth a read!

I went into Dear Killer not sure if I’d end up finishing it. I mean, the narrator is a killer. There was no telling what kind of stuff would be bouncing around in her head. However, I found it interesting that it didn’t feel so much like being in a killer’s head so much as a (not quite) normal girl.

Kit is an interesting character, and the book opens around the time she stops playing things safe. She starts taking risks that she shouldn’t take–that she knows she shouldn’t take. Time and time again she makes decisions that I was like, “Seriously! Don’t you know better by now?” Then I realized that those decisions were exactly the ones she would have made. Like, duh.

I love that this isn’t a romance book. I feel like so many books say they’re about one thing, but really it’s a love story with some other elements going on. Not this one.

For some reason, it’s hardest to review the books I love most because I don’t have adequate words to describe them. This is one of those books. So we’ll keep this short and sweet.

5 stars. I highly recommend it.

Content Advisory:

Language: 4
uses of d, a, b, h, and s scattered throughout, and 2 f-bombs
Other: 
Someone contemplates suicide; Due to the subject matter, this book may not be suitable for younger readers.

Leave a Reply

