Reflections: Gallagher Girls 1

Gallagher Girl readathon logo hosted by thegirlsinplaidskirts.com Since we’ve already reviewed I’d Tell You I Love You But Then I’d Have to Kill You, we thought we’d share some of our thoughts and favorite moments from the first book! WARNING: There might be spoilers ahead, so don’t read this post if you haven’t read the first book!

JB: Did anyone catch the SUPER MAJOR foreshadowing in chapter one? (Contains spoiler for future books, so highlight to read at your own risk!)

>>> “That’s got to be just a start-of-school rumor.” There were always plenty of those—like how *some girl got kidnapped by terrorists*, or one of the staff members won a hundred grand on Wheel of Fortune.<<<

Fave quotes:

  • “Get good, ladies. Or get dead.”
  • “Let’s face it—he’s either an enemy agent trying to infiltrate the Gallagher Girls through Cammie…” “Or…” “He’s your soul mate.”
  • Not necessarily a favorite… more like ALL THE FEELS the first time I read this book and the second one WASN’T OUT YET: “Oh, tell your mom thanks for the tea.”                                   weiojsxcv;jidflz!!?!??!??!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Fave scenes:

  • When Bex and Liz are trying to get out of Josh’s house and Liz is spinning around on repel cables like a pinata and Bex is just giving Cammie a thumbs up and mouthing “He’s cute!”
  • When Josh sneaks up on Cammie and, before she realizes it’s him, she tosses him to the ground.
  • Two words: FORK LIFT (We talked about this in detail here.)

Rachel: Well, it was fun going back to read the 1st chapter and see the Gallagher Academy for the 1st time. Ivy walls, a dorm room with nooks and cranies, and electric sword the makes the newbie’s hair catch on fire….yes please! I also loved the introduction of Liz! …and the Fork Lift scene is epic!

Quotes: “I know I’m the genius, but you do the math” – Cammie

I would like to confess the first time I read this book – I didn’t realize Bex was African American, but there it is: “She sounded eerily like the black, teenage, female James Bond.” I’m with JB on the tea quote…I was devasted and in “I need book two NOW!” mode!

JULES:

I’m in the admission boat with Rae, first time around I missed where she was black, and somewhere between books I totally forgot that she was British… -.-

“Get good ladies, or get dead.” ~ J. Solomon

And I really like that bonding moment between Cam and Macey in the tunnel, it shows a different, but very awesome and mature side of Macey that I love.

UMM that total forshadow moment on page 81 where “Tina Walters swears there’s a top secret boy’s school somewhere in Maine…”

And the swoon-worthy “… tell Suzie she’s a lucky cat.”

Then the the part where we know she’s really in deep… “ I…” I stumbled, knowing I”d finally made it to the edge of the cliff, and I had to decide if it was worth the fall.”

And when Cammie comes to terms that it just can’t work  “DeeDee would alwasy be flesh and blood to him, and I would always be a legend.”

And the forklift scene… just the whole thing…. That scene will always and forever be on my list of favorites.

Also, one more thought: the entirety of LYKY can be summed up in:

 Is it better to have loved and lost, than to have never loved at all?

dots

What is your favorite moment and/or quote from the first Gallagher Girls book?

2 thoughts on “Reflections: Gallagher Girls 1

  1. My favorite moment is when Liz blew up the Driver’s Ed car tire! What are friends for? I love their friendship SO much. 🙂 Hmm…I would say my favorite quote is the very last sentence, about being unsure about the future, “But I know who will be beside me, and as every good spy knows-sometimes that’s enough.” I really like that. Of course, Cammie was talking about her best friends being beside her, but I like to think about the fact that Jesus is walking beside me! And like she said, that’s enough! I can face the future knowing He is by my side. Anyway, I loved the fork lift scene! I was like “Did that just happen?!?!?! Yes it did!!!!” And I loved the part where Liz is spinning like a piñata. SO funny! I laughed so much, I had to read that part to my 12 year old brother, and by the time I was done, we were all rolling around giggling like nuts! *sigh of happiness* I love “I’d Tell You I Love You But Then I’d Have To Kill You.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

