JB’s 2015 Reads

Hello book lovers! I hope you all had a fantastic Christmas and got lots of reading material!

At the end of the year, I can’t help but reflect on the books I’ve read. Did I accomplish my goals? Did I do lots of rereading? How many books did I read? Thankfully, Goodreads makes it easy to keep up with what I read throughout the year!

Let’s see how I did with my goals! (See original post here.)

1) Meet my Goodreads goal of 40 (new-to-me) books. DONE! I actually read 49 new-to-me books this year! This year I chose a lower goal for new books so I could do more rereading. I reread 20 books, bringing me to a total of 69 books for the year. (Possibly more if I do any reading in the next few days!)

2) Read two classics. …Didn’t happen. Why is it so hard for me to make myself read classics? Someone please recommend me a classic to read for 2016! (Preferably one that’s enjoyable and short.)

3) Read two non-fiction books. Okay, I read one and a half. I read Developing the Leader Within You by John C. Maxwell and half of Facing Your Giants by Max Lucado. I really enjoyed both! (I’ve also almost finished my annual Bible reading… does that count?)

4) Finish The Chronicles of Narnia series. I read The Horse and His Boy and absolutely loved it! Next is Prince Caspian. (Yes, yes, I know I didn’t finish the series. But at least I’m one book closer!)

5) Read the second Percy Jackson book (if not more!). Also didn’t do this, but I’ve been on a romance book kick this year, so.

So, it seems as though I did a terrible job at meeting the goals I set for myself a year ago, BUT I have had an incredibly good reading year. I rated 41 of the 69 books I read FIVE STARS. I discovered my favorite standalone, reread my favorite series, and also reread the first three Lunar Chronicles books in preparation for Winter! (Which was fabulous, of course.)  

Below I’ve listed some of my favorite reads this year (that haven’t already been mentioned in this post). Click the link to go to that book’s Goodreads page!

Geek Girl by Holly Smale (I actually liked the second one better!)
I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest
Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
Stitching Snow by R.C. Lewis (Perfect for fans of The Lunar Chronicles!)
Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson
The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West (Did you seriously think I wouldn’t include Kasie West?)
Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins (A Most Favorite.)

To see everything I read this year, friend me on Goodreads!

What were your favorite 2015 reads?

 

5 thoughts on “JB’s 2015 Reads

  1. Okay, classic recommendations…
    Daddy-Long-Legs by Jean Webster is fairly short, if I’m not mistaken!
    Any of Jane Austen’s first three novels are wonderful.
    If you can get through it, The Sound and the Fury is thought-provoking.
    Shakespeare’s plays are pretty short, as are Animal Farm by George Orwell and Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf.

    • I am quite happy to say I’ve at least read one of those! lol. Rachel let me borrow Animal Farm last year and I read it since it was so short. I think she mentioned Daddy Long Legs last week so I should definitely check that out! Thank you so much for your recommendations!

  2. I struggle to get myself to read classics and non-fiction, and most non-fiction I read gets rated very highly so I ought to try to read more! I didn’t meet all my reading goals this year but I did read more pages this year than last year, so I’m pretty happy about that. My top 3 fave books this year were: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord, and Let’s All Be Brave by Annie F. Downs (which was non-fiction).

    • Why are classics and non-fic so hard to read??? That’s awesome that you read more pages! I always forget to check that, but now I’m interested! (Especially since I read the entire TLC collection this year.) I have HP on my TBR–maybe I’ll make that a 2016 read!

  3. I’m so happy to hear you had such a great reading year! I did too! Hmm…classics are hard lol! A Christmas Carol is a fast read! I love it so much. 🙂 I know Alice in Wonderland is short and fun too. 😉 Just So Stories is a bit over 200 pages, but it is a very fast and hilarious read. Hope that helps! As for my favorite reads of the year…hmm…ok here we go!

    Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
    All Fall Down by Ally Carter
    See How They Run by Ally Carter
    The Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter (I’m a Gallagher Girl now!!!)
    Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier
    The Giver Quartet by Lois Lowry

    For my classic, I’ll have to go with To Kill a Mockingbird. 😀

Leave a Reply

